Barcelona are expected to contact the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) after Robert Lewandowski’s three-match ban for questioning the integrity of an official was upheld.
Before heading off to the World Cup, Lewandowski was sent off for Barcelona against Osasuna for two yellow cards, but a controversial gesture allegedly directed at the referee led to a three-game suspension.
Reports in Spain revealed earlier on Monday that the Spanish FA had dismissed Barcelona’s appeal and upheld the ban, believing Lewandowski was disrespecting the referee, but the Catalan giants will seemingly not let the matter lie.
RAC1 state that Barcelona are heading to CAS to appeal the ruling, insisting that Lewandowski’s gesture, which has been defended by many, was nothing to do with the referee.
As he was sent off, the Poland striker unveiled a gesture which many have interpreted as accusing the referee of being ‘fishy’, although some in Germany, where Lewandowski played the majority of his club football, insisted that it simply meant ‘arrogant’.
The meaning of Lewandowski’s gesture is at the centre of this debate, with the ban stemming from the judgement that the veteran striker was questioning the objectivity of the official.
Barcelona have until December 29 to contact CAS and they are expected to demand an interim injunction to prevent the suspension from being applied while their ruling is heard.
As it stands, Lewandowski would miss matches against Espanyol, Atletico Madrid and Getafe.